Best Annie Barrows books

The Truth According to Us: A Novel

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 8.09

Buy
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • From the co-author of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society comes a wise, witty, and exuberant novel, perfect for fans of Lee Smith, that illuminates the power of loyalty and forgiveness, memory and truth, and the courage it takes to do what’s right. 

Annie Barrows once again evokes the charm and eccentricity of a small town filled with extraordinary characters. Her new novel, The Truth According to Us, brings to life an inquisitive young girl, her beloved aunt, and the alluring visitor who changes the course of their destiny forever.

In the summer of 1938, Layla Beck’s father, a United States senator, cuts off her allowance and demands that she find employment on the Federal Writers’ Project, a New Deal jobs program. Within days, Layla finds herself far from her accustomed social whirl, assigned to cover the history of the remote mill town of Macedonia, West Virginia, and destined, in her opinion, to go completely mad with boredom. But once she secures a room in the home of the unconventional Romeyn family, she is drawn into their complex world and soon discovers that the truth of the town is entangled in the thorny past of the Romeyn dynasty.

At the Romeyn house, twelve-year-old Willa is desperate to learn everything in her quest to acquire her favorite virtues of ferocity and devotion—a search that leads her into a thicket of mysteries, including the questionable business that occupies her charismatic father and the reason her adored aunt Jottie remains unmarried. Layla’s arrival strikes a match to the family veneer, bringing to light buried secrets that will tell a new tale about the Romeyns. As Willa peels back the layers of her family’s past, and Layla delves deeper into town legend, everyone involved is transformed—and their personal histories completely rewritten.

Praise for The Truth According to Us

“As delightfully eccentric as Guernsey yet refreshingly different . . . an epic but intimate family novel with richly imagined characters . . . Willa’s indomitable spirit, keen sense of adventure and innate intelligence reminded me of two other motherless girls in literature: Scout Finch in Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird and Flavia de Luce in Alan Bradley’s big-hearted British mystery series.”The Washington Post

The Truth According to Us has all the characteristics of a great summer read: A plot that makes you want to keep turning the pages; a setting that makes you feel like you’re inhabiting another time and place; and characters who become people you’re sad to leave behind—and thus who always stay with you.”Miami Herald

“It takes a brave author to make the heroine of a new novel an observant and feisty girl . . . like Scout Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird. . . . But Barrows . . . has created a believable and touching character in Willa.”USA Today

“[A] heartwarming coming-of-age novel [that] sparkles with folksy depictions of a tight-knit family and life in a small town . . . full of richly drawn, memorable characters.”The Seattle Times

“A big, juicy family saga with warm humor and tragic twists . . . The story gets more and more absorbing as it moves briskly along.”St. Louis Post-Dispatch

“Annie Barrows leaves no doubt that she is a storyteller of rare caliber, with wisdom and insight to spare. Every page rings like a bell.”—Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife


From the Hardcover edition.

Nothing

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 7.31

Buy

From Annie Barrows, the acclaimed #1 New York Times–bestselling coauthor of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and the author of the award-winning and bestselling Ivy + Bean books, this teen debut tells the story of Charlotte and Frankie, two high school students and best friends who don’t have magical powers, fight aliens, crash their cars, get pierced, or discover they are royal. They just go to school. And live at home. With their parents. A great read for fans of Becky Albertalli, Louise Rennison, and Adi Alsaid.

Nothing ever happens to Charlotte and Frankie. Their lives are nothing like the lives of the girls they read about in their YA novels. They don’t have flowing red hair, and hot romantic encounters never happen—let alone meeting a true soul mate.

They just go to high school and live at home with their parents, who are pretty normal, all things considered. But when Charlotte decides to write down everything that happens during their sophomore year—to prove that nothing happens and there is no plot or character development in real life—she’s surprised to find that being fifteen isn’t as boring as she thought.

It’s weird, heartbreaking, silly, and complicated. And maybe, just perfect.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 4.36

Buy
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“I wonder how the book got to Guernsey? Perhaps there is some sort of secret homing instinct in books that brings them to their perfect readers.” January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb….

As Juliet and her new correspondent exchange letters, Juliet is drawn into the world of this man and his friends—and what a wonderfully eccentric world it is. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society—born as a spur-of-the-moment alibi when its members were discovered breaking curfew by the Germans occupying their island—boasts a charming, funny, deeply human cast of characters, from pig farmers to phrenologists, literature lovers all.

Juliet begins a remarkable correspondence with the society’s members, learning about their island, their taste in books, and the impact the recent German occupation has had on their lives. Captivated by their stories, she sets sail for Guernsey, and what she finds will change her forever.

Written with warmth and humor as a series of letters, this novel is a celebration of the written word in all its guises, and of finding connection in the most surprising ways.


From the Hardcover edition.

The Magic Half

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 3.58

Buy

Miri is the non-twin child in a family with two sets of them―older brothers and younger sisters. When her family moves to an old farmhouse in a new town, the only good thing seems to be Miri's ten-sided attic bedroom. But when Miri gets sent to her room after accidentally bashing her big brother on the head, she finds herself in the same room . . . only not quite.

Without meaning to, she has found a way to travel back in time to 1935 where she discovers Molly, a girl her own age very much in need of a loving family. A highly satisfying classic-in-the-making full of spine-tingling moments, this is delightful time-travel story will have readers clamoring for another treat of twin-inspired magic in the follow up Magic in the Mix.

Magic in the Mix

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 5.67

Buy

New twin sisters Miri and Molly are ready for a normal life. But just when they think there's smooth sailing ahead, a door opens, time folds, and magic is unleashed from their very special house.

The girls set off on a new adventure, playing a cat-and-mouse game with time--and trouble--as they discover two soldiers in need of their help. With cunning, imagination, and the inadvertent assistance of their kitten, Molly and Miri must find a way to save themselves and their wayward brothers from the past.

Brimming with lovable characters and spine-tingling magic, this sequel will bring new readers to Annie Barrows' highly acclaimed, wonderfully popular world of twin-inspired magic.

Ivy & Bean's Secret Treasure Box (Books 1-3)

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 11.84

Buy
Meet Ivy and Bean, two friends who never meant to like each other. This boxed set is a delightful introduction to these spunky characters. It includes the first three books in the Ivy and Bean series, and a secret treasure-hiding boxwith a cool surprise inside!

Ivy and Bean Take the Case (Book 10) (Ivy + Bean)

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 2.75

Buy
Watch out, you diabolical masterminds! There's a new detective on Pancake Court: Bean! She laughs at danger! She solves even the most mysterious mysteries! What? There aren't any mysteries? Then Bean and her assistant, Ivy, will make some!

Ivy & Bean (Book 1) (Bk. 1)

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 0.81

Buy
The moment they saw each other, Bean and Ivy knew they wouldn't be friends. But when Bean plays a joke on her sister, Nancy, and has to hidequickIvy comes to the rescue, proving that sometimes the best of friends are people never meant to like each other. Vibrant characters and lots of humor make this a charmingand addictiveintroduction to Ivy and Bean.

Ivy & Bean Boxed Set: Books 7-9

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 10.2

Buy
Ivy and Bean are always up to something. Whether it's solving global warming, creating a neighborhood newspaper, or inventing the best camp ever, their adventures are always hilarious and filled with surprises! Now fans of the bestselling series can join in the fun by reading the books and then using the enclosed iron-on decals and temporary tattoos to decorate T-shirts, backpacks, arms, ankles— whatever they want. After all, like Ivy and Bean, these young readers can make their own rules!

Ivy and Bean Boxed Set 2 (Books 4-6)

Annie Barrows

Best price for this book: $ 7.99

Buy
This boxed set continues the adventures of the spunky second graders. It includes books 4, 5 and 6 in the Ivy and Bean series, and a set of paper dolls and lots of re-usable sticker clothes and accessories.


WARNING: CHOKING HAZARD Small parts. Not for children under 3 years.