Best Annelie Wendeberg books

The Lion's Courtship (Anna Kronberg Thrillers)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 11

Buy
Book 1 in the award-winning Anna Kronberg series.
New and revised edition.
"...so well written it belongs aside Oliver Twist, Wuthering Heights and other classics."
"I stayed up most of the night savouring this novel."
"I loved it on so many levels. Every free minute between taking care of my young kids was spent engrossed in this series. An intelligent and exciting story line with amazing characters."
"Loved this book.The writer transports the reader into the past and you can smell and taste the poverty of the slums that so many lived and died in."
"Once you start reading the series, you will want to read them all."


Anna Kronberg lives in Victorian London's worst rookery, offering medical treatment to prostitutes, vagrants, and criminals. To her, plugging holes and mopping up blood is normal. Stitching the slashed face of a young prostitute is not. Witnesses refuse to talk. The police can't be bothered with yet another injured whore. But whispers are spreading about a man who pays well for a few harmless knife marks. 

No one dares reveal the man's identity. Only Garret O'Hare - a thief Anna barely knows - reluctantly agrees to help her investigate the assault.
But when the injured girl disappears, a veil of silence descends upon the slum. And Anna learns that she is no longer the hunter, but the hunted.

Warning: medical procedures, poverty, and prostitution are depicted without apology.

Silent Witnesses: An Anna Kronberg Mystery (Volume 5)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 14.54

Buy
Only two people in this world know my name. I am one. The other is believed dead. Dr Elizabeth Arlington keeps her past buried. But when a woman is killed in a train accident, she falls into old habits and examines the body. All evidence points to murder. Soon, a second victim is found, and a photograph left at the scene incriminates Elizabeth. Now the prime suspect, she must hurry to catch the killer before the police arrest her. But when he strikes again, Elizabeth discovers a terrifying truth.

The Journey (Kronberg Crimes) (Volume 3)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 12.76

Buy
Book #4 in the award-winning Kronberg series.
With her darkest nightmare come true and an assassin following her every step, Anna Kronberg must hurry to find the true motivation behind Moriarty's plan to use disease as a weapon. Bit by bit, she and Sherlock Holmes unravel a spiderweb of crime, espionage, and bioterrorism that spreads across continents. 

The Fall (Kronberg Crimes)

A Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 12.97

Buy
Would you kill your father to save the lives of thousands?  
Anna Kronberg wakes up with a gun to her head. James Moriarty offers her a single bargain: to develop biological weapons for him, or she and her father will die.  
As Britain's foremost bacteriologist she certainly has the skills. But will she make a deal with the devil and aid in mass murder? Or will she sacrifice the only family she has left?  
Anna sees only one way out: She has to play a dangerous game of deception. If she fails, her experiments with deadly diseases will have terrifying and far-reaching consequences.

Spider Silk (Keeper of Pleas) (Volume 2)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 14.54

Buy

"... a tremendous noir detective story." 
"...awesome, exciting, nail-biting mystery." 
"...one of the most satisfying and clever I've come across."

Coroner Sévère has it all: a beautiful young wife, money, influence...and secrets. 
Not only is a disease slowly crippling him, but his wife, Olivia, is a former prostitute who once served the Chief Magistrate himself -- a man with cruel appetites. 
When Sévère and Olivia begin to investigate the heinous crimes of Chief Magistrate Frost, more than the Coroner's career is at risk. 
Sévère might just end up at the gallows.

Keeper of Pleas (Volume 1)

A. Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 14.5

Buy
"...vast imagination, skilful plot twists and remarkably interesting characters." 

"Masterful, original and refreshingly well-written." 

A dark Victorian mystery that will have you hooked from the very first page to the final, dramatic twist.

On December 10, 1880, Coroner Sévère makes a gruesome discovery: nine newborns, buried in flowerpots, and hidden in plain sight in Whitechapel. A mortician receives the bodies and vanishes. Clues for the two seemingly unconnected cases are scarce. 
When police and coroner learn that the missing mortician might have spent his last moments at the bosom of the infamous prostitute Miss Mary, a series of events is nudged into motion. Lies are unearthed, rumours spread. Yet, the killer remains a faceless phantom. 
His secret seems buried forever. 
Until the night Sévère requests Miss Mary's services... 

Warning: Prostitution and post-mortems are depicted without apology.

The Devil's Grin: A Dark Victorian Crime Novel (Anna Kronberg Mysteries)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 0

Buy

Book 2 in the award-winning Anna Kronberg series.

"...provocative and original..." Peter Kavanagh, CBC Radio Producer
"...the new dream team of detective literature." KrimiLese
"...a formidable dark-romantic conspiracy novel. A duel of two deduction monsters." Die Welt
"Best Sherlock Holmes Mystery 2014" German Sherlock Holmes Society

London 1889. A dead man is found floating in the city’s waterworks. Fearing an epidemic, the Metropolitan Police call upon bacteriologist Dr Anton Kronberg to examine the body. All signs point toward cholera having killed the man…but for faint marks around wrists and ankles.

Evidence for a crime is weak, and the police lose interest in the case. But Kronberg suspects that the dead man’s final days had been steeped in cruelty. Soon, a second victim is found, and Kronberg gets embroiled in a web of abduction, abuse, and murder.

But catching a killer and staying alive would be easier if the doctor didn’t have secrets of…her own.

Warning: medical procedures are depicted without apology.

___________
If you enjoyed The Alienist by Caleb Carr, and dark mysteries and thrillers by David Penny, Anne Perry, Louise Penny, Jo Nesbo, Alex Grecian, Nelson DeMille, Daniel Silva, Lee Child, and Ken Follett, odds are you’ll enjoy my mystery & thriller series as well.

Moriarty: Anna Kronberg Thriller Bundle

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 27.84

Buy
Bundle of the award-winning Kronberg series.
Europe, late 19th century. Antibiotics have yet to be invented, and germs take a death toll that lets the number of murders appear negligible. But when a cholera victim is found floating in one of London's drinking water supplies, Dr Anton Kronberg - England's best bacteriologist - is called upon to investigate. He crosses paths with Sherlock Holmes. The detective immediately discovers Kronberg's secret -- a woman masquerading as a man in order to practice medicine -- a criminal deed that could land her in prison for years to come. The two highly analytical minds provoke and annoy each other at once. Eventually, they must team up to unravel a spiderweb of murder, espionage, and bioterrorism that spreads across continents.
Compiles The Devil's Grin, The Fall, & The Journey

Cut (1/2986) (Volume 1)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 11.88

Buy
For fans of THE HUNGER GAMES and THE MAZE RUNNER comes a heroine like no other.
"thrilling" Readers' Favorite
"Riveting!" Book Addict
"the ultimate climate change thriller series." A Thrill A Week Reviews
"exceptionally well written." Amie's Book Reviews 


Ten billion died. Three million are left clawing for survival. One more death doesn't make a difference, does it?
Micka is barely sixteen when she decides to kill herself. She doesn't fit in, doesn't understand people or rules of society. She doesn't even understand herself. To her, all words have flavors, and emotions come with such force that she can't help but carve them into her skin.

Only hours before her meticulously planned suicide, she meets Runner - a mysterious stranger who offers to take her away.

There are only three rules she must follow:

Do not return home.
Do not die.
Kill.

Fog (1/2986) (Volume 2)

Annelie Wendeberg

Best price for this book: $ 13.66

Buy
The thunder of battle rolls over Taiwan. Two stand against fifty, and the price for survival is unbearably high.

"You don't hear death leaping at you. But I can hear you dying. And I can see your body growing as grey and black as the soil that drinks your blood."

Book 2 of the acclaimed climate fiction saga 1/2986.