Best Amit Chaudhuri books

Friend of My Youth

CHAUDHURI A

Best price for this book: $ 11.29

Buy

Odysseus Abroad: A novel (Vintage International)

Amit Chaudhuri

Best price for this book: $ 6.98

Buy
In Odysseus Abroad, Amit Chaudhuri charts a day in the life of two Indian men—a twenty-two-year-old student trying (and failing) at being a poet and his bachelor uncle, who has been living in genteel poverty for nearly three decades—as they explore London, the city they now call home.

A wistful and beguiling work of fiction, the novel follows nephew and uncle on one of their weekly forays about town, as they ruminate on their situations, the art of living, and each other. Marked by the same sensual richness that is a hallmark of all of Chaudhuri’s work, here is a charming yet candid look at the experiences of the outsider, the struggles of youth and loneliness, and the spiky, needful, sometimes comical, yet ultimately loving connection between two generations.

Freedom Song: Three Novels

Amit Chaudhuri

Best price for this book: $ 8.23

Buy
"An immensely gifted writer....Crammed with breathtaking sentences, sharp characterizations, comic set pieces, and melancholy grace notes." --The New York Times Book Review

Freedom Song--which collects three of Chaudhuri's novels--celebrates the rhythms of modern India. A boy's visit with relatives conjures the melancholy comforts of family. An Indian student at an English university contemplates the conflicted relationship between an immigrant and his homeland. And the task of marrying off a "problem" son illuminates the complex community of cultures that is modern Calcutta.

Chaudhuri's novels offer simple plots that unfold into dramas of profound emotional resonance. And in prose that has won Chaudhuri comparisons to the master stylists of this century but that emerges as fiercely his own, Freedom Song announces a young writer of extraordinary gifts.

Calcutta: Two Years in the City

Amit Chaudhuri

Best price for this book: $ 9.67

Buy

In this vividly drawn and deeply personal portrait, acclaimed novelist Amit Chaudhuri chronicles the two years he spent revisiting Calcutta, the city of his birth.  A mesmerizing narrative, the book takes readers into the heart of a metropolis relatively resistant to the currents of globalization. Moving through the city’s vibrant avenues and derelict alleyways, Chaudhuri introduces us to the homeless and the high society, describes its architecture and food, its sounds and smells, and its past and present politics. With rare candor and clarity, he combines memoir, reportage, and history to evoke all that is most particular and extraordinary about the city—and to explain his own passionate attachment to the place and its people. 

Party Going (NYRB Classics)

Henry Green

Best price for this book: $ 9.31

Buy
A modernist "masterpiece" (The New York Times) that will appeal to fans of Downton Abbey and The Great Gatsby

Party Going
, published in 1939, is Henry Green’s darkly comic valediction to what W. H. Auden famously described as the “low dishonest decade” of the 1930s. London is sunk in an impenetrable fog. Traffic has come to a halt. Stranded in the train station and the hotel connected to it are a group of bright young things waiting to catch a train to the Continent, where their enormously rich friend Max is throwing a party. Green’s characters worry and wonder and wander in and out of each other’s company (and arms and beds), in pursuit of and pursued by their own secrets and desires.

Jejuri (New York Review Books Classics)

Arun Kolatkar

Best price for this book: $ 6

Buy
A sequence of stunningly simple but haunting poems, Jejuri is one of the great books of modern India. Jejuri is a site of pilgramage in author Arun Kolatkar's native state of Maharashtra, and Jejuri the poem is the record of a visit to the town -- a place that is as crassly commercial as it is holy, as modern and ruinous as it is ancient and enduring. Evoking the town's crowded streets, many shrines, and mythic history of sages and gods, Kolatkar's poem offers a rich description of India while at the same time performing a complex act of devotion. For the essence of the poem is a spiritual quest, the effort to find the divine trace in a degenerate world. Spare, comic, sorrowful, singing, Jejuri is the work of a writer with a unique and visionary voice.

Raghubir Singh: Modernism on the Ganges

Mia Fineman

Best price for this book: $ 34.39

Buy
Raghubir Singh (1942–1999) was a pioneer of color street photography who worked and published prolifically from the late 1960s until his death in 1999 at age 56.  His vivid, intensely hued photographs capture rural and urban India and iconic depictions of Indian culture though a truly cosmopolitan approach that succeeded in blending East and West.  This richly illustrated volume studies in depth the full breadth of Singh’s work, situating it at the intersection of Western modernism and traditional South Asian modes of picturing the world.  The book showcases 90 of his photographs, including some previously unpublished images, in counterpoint both with the work of his contemporaries and with images of traditional South Asian artworks that inspired his practice.
 

The Palaces Of Memory

Best price for this book: $ 19.98

Buy
Freedman has visited more than thirty of the most significant and beautiful Coffee Houses throughout India. Away from the stereotypes of poverty and exotica they have allowed him to enter an ‘ordinary’ India. Buried deep within the country’s collective memory they have for decades acted simultaneously as political and artistic salons as well as simple eating places.

Penguin India Telling Tales: Selected Writing, 1993-2013

Amit Chaudhuri

Best price for this book: $ 5.23

Buy
Spanning a writing career of over twenty years, the acclaimed novelist amit chaudhuri is also one of the most gifted essayists and critics writing today, whose work has appeared in the pages of many of the most prestigious newspapers and journals in the world, including the london review of books, the times literary supplement, granta, the guardian and the dublin review collected here for the first time, telling tales is a selection of chaudhuris most enduring short non-fiction that showcases his sense of humor, his idiosyncratic capacity to transform the mundane, his political engagement and his mastery of words from playing 'cowboys and indians as a child in india to an outsiders perspective on the british class system to a plane that was hijacked by pakistani men and taken to afghanistan at the turn of the millennium to the works of vs naipaul and to the humble indian savory the chanachur, these essays display chaudhuris ability to find meaning in every aspect of the physical and intellectual world and will consolidate his reputation as one of the most original and elegant writers publishing in english today key features: a remarkable intellectual with a great record of literary writing - amartya sen the most consistently probing of indian critics - caravan

Clearing a Space: Reflections on India, Literature and Culture (Peter Lang Ltd.)

Amit Chaudhuri

Best price for this book: $ 6.5

Buy