Alida Nugent books in our showcase

Best Alida Nugent books

You Don't Have to Like Me: Essays on Growing Up, Speaking Out, and Finding Feminism

Alida Nugent

Best price for this book: $ 6.56

Buy
"Hilarious...[Nugent] documents her journey to feminism while skewering misogynist tropes and delivering some painful truths." –Publishers Weekly (starred review)
 
“Feminist” is not a four-letter word, but Alida Nugent resisted it for a long time. She feared the “scarlet F” being thrust upon her for refusing to laugh at misogynistic jokes at parties; she withered under the judgmental gaze of store clerks when buying Plan B, and she swore that she was “not like other girls.” But eventually, like so many of us, she discovered that feminism is an empowering identity to take on. It’s okay to criticize beauty standards but still love dark lipstick, investing in female friendships is the most rewarding thing ever, and no one should feel pressured to eat an “unseasoned chicken breast the size of a deck of playing cards” as every sad dinner for the rest of eternity.
 
With sincerity, intelligence, and wit, Nugent invites readers in to her most private moments of personal growth. From struggling with an eating disorder for most of her teen years to embracing all aspects of her biracial identity, she tackles tough topics with honest vulnerability. Smartly-written, unapologetic, and laugh-out-loud funny, You Don’t Have to Like Me is perfect for readers of Roxane Gay, Rebecca Solnit, and Sloane Crosley.

Don't Worry, It Gets Worse: One Twentysomething's (Mostly Failed) Attempts at Adulthood

Alida Nugent

Best price for this book: $ 3.44

Buy
“Reading Don’t Worry, it Gets Worse is the equivalent of spending an evening out with your funniest friend. Nugent keeps you laughing from start to finish—even her asides are gems.”
 –Rachel Dratch, Saturday Night Live alum and author of Girl Walks into a Bar
 
Overeducated, underemployed, and hungover is no way to go through life, but here we are. After graduating college with a drink in one hand and a degree in the other, Alida Nugent was ready for the supportive, predictable embrace of “the real world.” She didn’t expect to be buried under a pile of student loan debt, laundry, and two-dollar bottles of wine, all of which pointed to the sinking realization that she had no idea what she was doing. 

In Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse, Nugent shares what it takes to make the awkward leap from wide-eyed undergrad to “mature and responsible adult that definitely never eats peanut butter straight from the jar and considers it a meal.” From trying to find an apartment on the black hole otherwise known as Craigslist to the imaginative financial finagling required to pay off student loans and still enjoy happy hour, Nugent documents the formative moments of being a twentysomething with a little bit of snark and a lot of heart. Perfect for fans of HBO's Girls and Allie Brosh's Hyperbole and a Half, Don’t Worry, It Gets Worse brings the best aspects of Nugent’s blog—the Frenemy—to the page as a love note to boozin’, bitchin’ ladies everywhere.

Endiselenme Daha Kotu Olacak

Alida Nugent

Best price for this book: $ 16.76

Buy
Bir yirmiligin (cogunlukla basarisiz olan) yetiskinlik denemeleri Iyi egitimli, hak ettigi isi bulamamis ve cogunlukla aksamdan kalma. Universiteden mezun olup alti ay issiz gezdikten sonra, insanlar bana, yakinini kaybeden birinin hatirini sorarken kullandiklari ayni ruhsuz tonlamayla "issiz olmakla nasil bas ediyorsun?" diye sormaya basladi. Siz sorana kadar gayet iyiydim, tesekkurler... Ekonomi dibi gormus ve is bulmak yuzde 80 oraninda "dogru insani tanimaya" bagli hale gelmis gibi gorunuyordu. Oysa ben kimseyi tanimiyordum. Asla kimseyi tanimaya da ugrasmamistim cunku universitedeyken, tanidiklarini kullanip kendine cikar saglayan igrenc biri olarak yaftalanmak istememistim. Oyle tipleri bilirsin: Daha ogrenciyken internetten kendine "isadami" yazili kartvizitler siparis eden su dallamalardan soz ediyorum. Okuldayken hevessiz takildigim dogrudur; tek hedefim olduysa, o da bu tipler gibi olmamakti iste. Gerci istesem de oyle olamazdim cunku insan iliskilerim, ipini koparip anaokuluna dalmis kuduz bir kopek duzeyindeydi. Israrci olmaktan nefret ederim, nabza gore serbet vermekten hoslanmam ve kendi yukumu baskasinin omzuna yuklemeye de tesebbus etmem. "Buyuleyici... Nugent, keskin, parlak ve muhtesem zekasi ile etrafindaki gulunc dunyaya hem asik oluyor hem birazcik da nefret duyuyor. Mezuniyet sonrasi yasama dair gozlemleriyse ayni anda aci verip icinizi isitabiliyor; bu da bu kitabi daha harika kiliyor." -Sara Barrom (People Are Unappealing: Even Me -Insanlar Hic Cekici Degil: Ben Bile kitabinin yazari)- "Insani kucaklayan, tek atimlik viski gibi bir kitap. Zeka dolu ve samimi anlatimiyla Endiselenme, Daha Kotu Olacak bir sayfasinda kahkahaya bogarken, sonrakinde gozunden yas getiriyor. Alida Nugent yasini asmis bir bilgelige sahip." -Maghan Laslocky (The Little Book of Heartbreak - Kalp Kirikliginin Minik Kitabi'nin yazari)- (Tanitim Bulteninden)

You Don't Have to Like Me: Essays on Growing Up, Speaking Out, and Finding Feminism by Nugent Alida (2015-10-20) Paperback

Best price for this book: $ 17.86

Buy