Best Alex Gerlis books

The Best of Our Spies

Alex Gerlis

Best price for this book: $ 13.81

Buy
France, July 1944 It’s a month after the Allied landings in Normandy on D-Day, and the liberation of Europe is underway. In the Pas de Calais, Nathalie Mercier, a young British Special Operations Executive secret agent working with the French Resistance, disappears. In London, her husband Owen Quinn, an officer with Royal Navy Intelligence, finds out the truth about her role in the Allies’ sophisticated deception at the heart of D-Day. Appalled by the discovery that the woman he loves is a Nazi spy, yet determined to track her down, Owen sets off on a perilous hunt through France in search of his wife. Can he find her before other, darker forces close in? Based on real Second World War events, The Best of Our Spies is a thrilling tale of international intrigue, love, deception and espionage from one of the greatest spy novelists of the modern age.

Vienna Spies

Alex Gerlis

Best price for this book: $ 16.31

Buy
One other thing, Edgar: you mentioned about our network in Vienna. I didn’t realise we still have one there?’ ‘That’s the thing Fowler: we don’t. Not yet, at any rate.’ With the end of the Second World War in sight, the Allies begin to divide up the spoils and it proves to be a dangerous game. The British have become aware that, contrary to what’s been agreed, the Soviet Union is intent on controlling Austria once the Second World War ends. And Major Edgar is given the job of establishing an espionage unit in Vienna. He sends in a married Swiss couple – Rolf Eder and Katharina Hoch – who, in fact, have only met each other a week before their journey. Their job is to track down Austria’s most respected politician – in hiding from the Nazis – and bring him over to the British cause. But the feared Soviet spy Viktor Krasotkin is already in the wartorn city, embarking on exactly the same mission. A taut, tense masterclass in espionage fiction from the author of The Best of Our Spies and The Swiss Spy, the new novel by Alex Gerlis takes place in a fiercely pro-Nazi city in the final months of the Second World War – a place where the Wehrmacht patrol the streets and the Gestapo rule unchecked. As the former Austrian capital faces the onslaught of the Allies from one side and the Red Army from the other, it provides an unforgettable backdrop to a chess-like game of oneupmanship and political ideology.

The Swiss Spy

Alex Gerlis

Best price for this book: $ 11.42

Buy
‘On the 20-minute drive to Lutry, the Alps rose high to his left, the lake sweeping below him to the right. That summed it up, he thought: caught between two powerful forces. Not unlike serving two masters.’ It’s not unusual for spies to have secrets, but Henry Hunter has more than most and after he is stopped by British Intelligence at Croydon airport on the eve of the Second World War, he finds he has even more. From Switzerland he embarks on a series of increasingly perilous missions into Nazi Germany, all the time having to cope with different identities and two competing masters. In March 1941 in Berlin, haunted by a dark episode from his past, he makes a fateful decision, resulting in a dramatic journey to the Swiss frontier with a shocking outcome. The Swiss Spy is set against the true-life backdrop of the top-secret Nazi plans to invade the Soviet Union. The story paints an authentic picture of life inside wartime Europe: the menacing atmosphere, the ever-present danger and the constant intrigue of the world of espionage. The Swiss Spy is the follow-up novel to Alex Gerlis’ highly acclaimed bestseller The Best of Our Spies.

The D-Day Deception (Kindle Single)

Alex Gerlis

Best price for this book: $ 0

Buy
6th June 2014 will be the 70th Anniversary of D-Day, which marked the start of the Battle for Normandy – which in turn led to the liberation of Nazi-occupied Europe and the defeat of Germany a year later. Although it is usually seen as an unqualified success, the Battle for Normandy was actually a much more closely fought affair. In The D-Day Deception the author and journalist Alex Gerlis explores whether it would have been won at all without the Allied deception operation. It was not until the 1970s that details began to emerge the Allies’ top secret and audacious deception plan. Operation Fortitude succeeded in confusing the Germans about where the Allies were going to land: would it be Normandy, or the Pas de Calais?

The D-Day Deception looks at the part the deception played in the eventual Allied victory and asks to what extent it may have been helped by those in the German High Command and intelligence organizations who by 1944 wanted to see a swift end to the war.

Alex Gerlis was born in Grimsby, Lincolnshire and now lives with his family in West London. He was a BBC journalist for over 25 years, leaving in 2011 to concentrate on his writing. He is the author of The Best of Our Spies, a highly acclaimed espionage thriller based on D-Day and especially the deception operation that played a big part in its success. The Best of Our Spies was published in December 2012, since when it has featured prominently in the Amazon Kindle Spy best-selling lists and has over 180 Amazon reviews.

Death in Shanghai (Inspector Danilov Historical Thriller)

M J Lee

Best price for this book: $ 7.32

Buy
Shanghai, 1928. The body of a blonde is washed up on the Beach of Dead Babies, in the heart of the smog-filled city. Seemingly a suicide, a closer inspection reveals a darker motive: the corpse has been weighed down, it's lower half mutilated...and the Chinese character for justice' carved into the chest.

Envoy

Edward Wilson

Best price for this book: $ 7.66

Buy
Kit Fournier, a disaffected former American officer, goes deep undercover and sides with the enemy in this sophisticated espionage thriller that takes place at the height of the Cold War. Giving a unique look into the CIA in London, Kit faces not only the looming arms race and an impending H-bomb apocalypse but also a crisis of the soul-brought about by the unveiling of his own dark, personal secret that might prove more deadly than the dispatches he's decoding. In a world where sexual blackmail and personal betrayal are essential skills, the consequences of siding with the enemy are exposed in this gripping historical drama.

Leaving Pimlico

P B North

Best price for this book: $ 9

Buy
"What a wonderful story. Beautifully written by a clear wordsmith" Charlotte Duncan "Suspense, intrigue, descriptions and emotion all makes a fantastic read, I couldn't put it down" Edinburgh "There were some very tender moments which could not fail to stir ones emotions and feelings and the understanding and complexity of the past which fails to be left behind is well written. A must for all to enjoy reading." An Amazon Customer 'What is it Peter?' she said, after a while. 'I can never get used to this, Alexi. Having you, that is. How did I deserve you?' 'Deserve me? You don't have to do anything to deserve me. I love you. It's as simple as that. I love you for what you are. All you need to do is love me back. You don't earn love, as a payment in return.' Peter Kingsmill's life had run into the sands since the death of his wife. What was a glittering London career had lost its shine. Until, that is, his life is turned upside down by an unexpected collision of events. He inherits the family estate, meets a girl seventeen years his junior and receives an anonymous letter which casts doubt on all the certainties on which he has built his past life. What follows is a journey of discovery which takes him back in time to war-torn Europe. To a story of betrayal in the secret world of spies and double agents, and ultimately to redemption and a bright new life. The narrative moves at speed from the dusty plains of pre-war Poland to the frozen winter landscapes of German-occupied Norway and finally to the gentle pastoral of the north Yorkshire hills. It is a story of a search for the pieces that make up a human life; and of the love that binds those pieces together. '...Do you remember the Snow Queen story? I can complete the pattern now. I have everything I need.'

City Of Shadows (An Inspector Danilov Historical Thriller, Book 2)

M J Lee

Best price for this book: $ 0

Buy

A family has been found murdered in the heart of 1920s Shanghai. But what could have compelled them to open the door to their killer?

Inspector Danilov has always taken a unique approach to solving his cases. So, when he’s asked to investigate the violent death of a fellow police officer, killed in action, he doesn’t think twice about turning his attention to a different case altogether: the brutal murder of the Lee family, found massacred in their own home.

How could the deaths of an ordinary family account for a shooting halfway across the city? And what clues lie with the letter found clasped in the dead girl’s hand? Inspector Danilov’s instincts tell him he’s close. But when the investigation reveals deep corruption at Shanghai’s core, Danilov faces a choice: probe further, and expose the evil underbelly of the city? Or shy from duty…and keep the few people he loves safe?

Don’t miss the second book in MJ Lee’s brilliant Inspector Danilov series.

The Miracle of Normandy

Alex Gerlis

Best price for this book: $ 4.95

Buy

D-Day marked the start of the Battle for Normandy, which in turn led to the liberation of Nazi-occupied Europe and the defeat of Germany. Although it is seen as an unqualified success, the Battle for Normandy was a much more closely fought affair.

It wasn't until the 1970s that details of the Allies' top-secret and audacious deception plan emerged.

My Name Is Nobody

Matthew Richardson

Best price for this book: $ 0

Buy

A breathless, gripping must-read for fans of Terry Hayes' I Am Pilgrim and James Swallow's Nomad

'I know a secret. A secret that changes everything . . .'

Solomon Vine was the best of his generation, a spy on a fast track to the top. But when a prisoner is shot in unexplained circumstances, and on his watch, only suspension and exile beckon.

Three months later, in Istanbul, MI6's Head of Station is violently abducted from his home. With the Service in lockdown, uncertain of who can be trusted, thoughts turn to the missing man's oldest friend: Solomon Vine.

Officially suspended, Vine can operate outside the chain of command to uncover the truth. But his investigation soon reveals that the disappearance heralds something much darker. And that there's much more at stake than the life of a single spy . . .

My Name is Nobody is a sophisticated, pacey and accomplished debut novel by 26-year-old rising star Matthew Richardson. Appealing to fans of the TV series Homeland and The Night Manager - as well as, Charles Cumming and Robert Harris - this is a gripping, multi-layered and assured debut thriller that drips with an insider's knowledge of London's corridors of power.

'Compelling, intense and sharply authentic' - James Swallow, bestselling author of Nomad

'I dare you to find a first novel as self-assured, impeccably researched and beautifully rendered . . . Richardson paints a portrait of espionage that calls to mind early le Carré' - Gregg Hurwitz, No. 1 bestselling author of Orphan X