Best Alan Lee books

The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook

Best price for this book: $ 21.58

Buy
Alan Lee, the Oscar-winning conceptual designer for the Lord of the Rings movie trilogy, discusses his approach to depicting Tolkien’s imaginary world. The book presents more than 150 of Lee’s celebrated illustrations to show how his imagery for both the illustrated Lord of the Rings and the films progressed from concept to finished art. In addition, the book contains 20 full-color plates and numerous examples of the conceptual art produced for Peter Jackson’s film adaptation.

The Lord of the Rings Sketchbook provides a wealth of background information and will be of interest to those who know and love Tolkien’s work, from books to films to DVDs, as well as to budding artists and illustrators interested in how to approach book illustration.

The Second Secret (Mackenzie August) (Volume 2)

Alan Lee

Best price for this book: $ 9.99

Buy
Book Two of the Mackenzie August mystery series! 
  
Local attorney and femme fatale Ronnie Summers knocks on Mackenzie's door with a case he can't resist, even though he probably should. Her secrets cast him into the deep end, both professionally and romantically, and soon he finds himself mingling with the mafioso.

The Last Teacher (Mackenzie August) (Volume 0)

Alan Lee

Best price for this book: $ 9.99

Buy
Imagine your favorite teachers from high school are dying, being mysteriously murdered one by one soon after the arrival of the new English instructor... 
   
The Mackenzie August prequel.

Mackenzie August is starting a new life. After a successful but destructive career as a high-profile California homicide detective, and then a less successful and even more destructive stint working for a church, he has moved to Virginia to start over as an instructor. The only thing he's bringing with him is Kix, his infant baby boy. He plans for peaceful living with his son, but trouble soon finds him as his new co-workers begin showing up dead outside of his classroom. 

The Sheriff's Office is stumped, the instructors are scared, and hidden rifts within the county begin surfacing. The town turns to August for help, which he is compelled to provide after learning that evidence suggests he will be the next victim. August must survive entanglements with the small-time police force, a local drug dealer, and the young and aggressive brunette teaching across from him if he is to stop the mysterious killer.

Tolkien Calendar 2018

Best price for this book: $ 11.48

Buy
The official Tolkien calendar, this year containing 12 of the finest watercolours by Alan Lee, selected from BEREN AND LUTHIEN by J.R.R. Tolkien, and accompanied by numerous pencil sketches, many unique to this calendar. The Tolkien calendar has become an established publishing event, eagerly looked forward to by Tolkien fans the world over. This year's is more sumptuous than ever, and is not only illustrated by the acclaimed and Oscar-winning Tolkien artist, it has been designed by him, too, with the same care and attention to detail that has seen his work embraced by the Tolkien Estate, Peter Jackson and discerning fans around the world. The content itself is particularly special, as it is inspired by a Tolkien work that is seeing print in its complete form for the very first time. To accompany each watercolour painting from BEREN AND LUTHIEN, the newly published epic tale of adventure by J.R.R. Tolkien, every month features complementary pencil drawings selected by Alan and there are also brand new sketches produced exclusively for this calendar. Alan Lee has depicted famous scenes including Gollum and Bilbo, Rivendell and Smaug the Dragon in his celebrated illustrated editions of `The Hobbit' and `The Lord of the Rings', but with these brand new paintings and drawings he will take the reader deeper into the enchanting world of Middle-earth than ever before.

Faeries: Deluxe Collector's Edition

Best price for this book: $ 21.81

Buy

A quarter of a century after its initial publication, and with more than a million copies in print worldwide, Brian Froud and Alan Lee’s Faeries is a certified fantasy classic. Now, Froud and Lee return to their most enduring and beloved work in this deluxe anniversary edition. This ultimate collector’s book features eight new pieces of art by Froud and Lee with the original pencil drawings and watercolors.

 

More than just a reissue, this deluxe revised and updated edition contains essays from both Froud and Lee on the continuing influence of Faeries. There is also a foreword by bestselling author Jane Yolen.

 

Tolkien's World: Paintings of Middle-Earth

J. R. R. Tolkien

Best price for this book: $ 37

Buy
Excerpts from "The Hobbit," "The Lord of the Rings," and other works are paired with paintings by Inger Edelfeldt, Carol Emery Phenix, Tony Galuidi, Roger Garland, and other artists

Beren and Lúthien

J.R.R. Tolkien

Best price for this book: $ 17.87

Buy
The tale of Beren and Lúthien was, or became, an essential element in the evolution of The Silmarillion, the myths and legends of the First Age of the World conceived by J.R.R. Tolkien. Returning from France and the battle of the Somme at the end of 1916, he wrote the tale in the following year.
 
Essential to the story, and never changed, is the fate that shadowed the love of Beren and Lúthien: for Beren was a mortal man, but Lúthien was an immortal elf. Her father, a great elvish lord, in deep opposition to Beren, imposed on him an impossible task that he must perform before he might wed Lúthien. This is the kernel of the legend; and it leads to the supremely heroic attempt of Beren and Lúthien together to rob the greatest of all evil beings, Melkor, called Morgoth, the Black Enemy, of a Silmaril.
 
In this book Christopher Tolkien has attempted to extract the story of Beren and Lúthien from the comprehensive work in which it was embedded; but that story was itself changing as it developed new associations within the larger history. To show something of the process whereby this legend of Middle-earth evolved over the years, he has told the story in his father's own words by giving, first, its original form, and then passages in prose and verse from later texts that illustrate the narrative as it changed. Presented together for the first time, they reveal aspects of the story, both in event and in narrative immediacy, that were afterwards lost.
 
Published on the tenth anniversary of the last Middle-earth book, the international bestseller The Children of Húrin, this new volume will similarly include drawings and color plates by Alan Lee, who also illustrated The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit and went on to win Academy Awards for his work on The Lord of the Rings film trilogy.
 

Sophomore Slump (Mackenzie August) (Volume 1)

Alan Lee

Best price for this book: $ 9.99

Buy
For fans of Robert Parker and Robert Crais
On sale for a limited time
   
Mackenzie is a private investigator, and the first client at his new office is a knock out. Trouble is, she's also the Sheriff.
  
A dangerous criminal has moved into Mackenzie's hometown, and to help identify him the Sheriff wants Mackenzie to accept a job teaching at an inner city high school.  He'll be a bull in a china shop, so to speak.  A china shop full of angry gang members...
  
Read book one of the Mackenzie August mystery series today!

Castles

Alan Lee

Best price for this book: $ 49

Buy
Recounts legends, folk stories, and fairy tales dealing with castles from the traditions of England, Norway, Germany, and other countries

Tales from the Perilous Realm

J.R.R. Tolkien

Best price for this book: $ 15.53

Buy
The definitive collection of Tolkien’s classic “fairie” tales, in the vein of The Hobbit, illustrated by Oscar winner Alan Lee

Never before published in a single volume, Tolkien’s four novellas (Farmer Giles of Ham, Leaf by Niggle, Smith of Wootton Major, and Roverandom) and one book of poems (The Adventures of Tom Bombadil) are gathered together for the first time, in a fully illustrated volume. This definitive collection of works -- which had appeared separately, in various formats, between 1949 and 1998 -- comes with a brand-new foreword and endmatter, and with a series of detailed pencil illustrations by Alan Lee, in the style of his other award-winning Tolkien work, most recently in The Children of Húrin.

The book is the perfect opportunity for fans of Middle-earth to enjoy some of Tolkien’s often overlooked yet most creative storytelling. With dragons and sand sorcerers, sea monsters and hobbits, knights and dwarves, this collection contains all the classic elements for Tolkien buffs of all ages.